Well, the trick involves practically one step!
Go to Settings, click on ‘Privacy’ and turn off the Read receipts.
Now, if you check someone’s status, he or she will not be able to see your name on the list of people.
However, there is a catch. Just as switching off the Read Receipts for messages does not let you know if the person has read your message or not, you will also not be able to see who all have checked your status. But if you are okay with not keeping a tab on who all viewed your status, then this feature comes really handy.
Follow the same procedure to switch on Read Receipts like you did when you had to turn them off.